Posted by: Bob Gusch | July 5, 2010

Tenor Revival

I have a love/hate relationship with my tenor sax. It’s a King Super 20 from the early seventies. A decent enough horn but I am never happy with the tonal response I get. I am not one to go from horn to horn or mouthpiece to mouthpiece like some like to do. So I lend my horn to a visiting artist who is sitting in with my band, Saudade and he is sounding real fine. Then I realized, hey, that’s my horn. It doesn’t sound that way when I play it. I then asked  “the question”. What mouthpiece do you play on”? He tells me and now on am experiencing my tenor revival. Trying some new mouthpieces that really make the horn respond in a positivee way. I’ll let you know how it all comes out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

